Nienke Homan to join Green Hydrogen Organisation Board

Photo portrait of Nienke Homan

Press Release - 17 November 2021 

GENEVA – Today the Green Hydrogen Organisation announced that sustainability expert Nienke Homan will be joining the Green Hydrogen Organisation (GH2) Board effective 1 December 2021. 

Nienke Homan is an outgoing Minister of the Regional Groningen Government in the Netherlands, chair of the Sustainable Hydrogen Club and co-founder of Groningen is home to one of the world’s largest and longest producing gas fields, and Ms Homan has been a strong advocate for renewable energy and green hydrogen as an alternative to fossil gas in the region. 

Ms Homan said: “I am delighted to join the board of the Green Hydrogen Organisation because I feel green hydrogen is the missing link in the energy transition, and because we need to ensure that the green hydrogen economy benefits everyone and helps to achieve the sustainable development goals.” 

Welcoming the announcement, GH2’s CEO Jonas Moberg said: “We are thrilled to welcome Nienke Homan to the GH2 Board. The Green Hydrogen Organisation is working to dramatically accelerate the uptake of green hydrogen to rapidly phase out fossil fuels in key economic sectors. Ms Homan’s background on policy and expertise will be an important addition to GH2’s multistakeholder board.”    

GH2 was launched in September 2021. It is chaired by Former Prime Minister of Australia Malcolm Turnbull. GH2 is a Swiss non-profit foundation and receives generous support from Fortescue Future Industries whose founder Dr Andrew Forrest also serves on GH2’s board. GH2’s team is led by CEO Jonas Moberg.  


Contact: Joe Williams +44 77 5757 1170 /  

Notes to editors: 

GH2’s other board members are: 

  • Dr Youngcho Chi, President & Chief Innovation Officer of Hyundai Motor Group, South Korea 

  • Mr Yun Choi, CEO of Korea Zinc Company, Ltd., South Korea 

  • Ms Maria Paz de la Cruz, CEO of H2 Chile, Chile 

  • Dr Andrew Forrest AO, Founder of Fortescue Future Industries, Chairman of Fortescue Metals Group & the Minderoo Foundation, Australia 

  • Dr Frannie Léautier, CEO of Southbridge Capital, Rwanda 

  • Hon. Malcolm Turnbull, Former Prime Minister of Australia (Chair) 

  • Lord Adair Turner, Chair of the Energy Transitions Commission and Former Chair of the Financial Services Authority, United Kingdom